Solliès-Ville

Solliès-Ville

Solliès-Ville

 

Let yourself be charmed by this Provencal village charged with history. Solliès-Ville was the main fortified town of the region and has played an important role in the history of the county of Provence. Perched village overlooking the Valley of Gapeau sheltered from noise and the urban nuisances in a quiet and very green environment. The bell tower of its church stands proudly like a sentry with the houses of the village huddled around it.

During your walk through the cobbled streets, you will discover some historical remains and enjoy the sumptuous panorama of the Valley.

You can have a drink or a meal on the lovely village square where the terraces of the restaurants and bars are gathered in the shade of the superb hundred-year-old plane trees, in a peaceful atmosphere, the children play close by, the parents are looking after them while taking the aperitif.

A bit of history

Solliès-Ville is without a doubt the spiritual capital of the canton. Indeed, originally, Solliès-Ville formed a single territory with the communes of Solliès-Toucas, Solliès-Pont and La Farlède formerly called Solliès-Farlède.

It was in the 16th century that the Solliès-Ville inhabitants gradually settled near the fertile banks of the river Gapeau and gathered in small hamlets: Solliès-Pont (which had several bridges), Solliès-Toucas (where the Tocasso brothers lived) and Solliès-Farlède. It was in 1799 that the commune was divided into four distinct villages.

Village of tradition, Solliès-Ville remains nonetheless turned towards the future and deserves a detour.

The star of Solliès-Ville

What particularly strikes about Solliès-Ville, it’s the calm ! The tranquility of the place calls for the discovery of the typical alleyways of Provence.

During the wanderings, you will discover a village that listens to its past traditions.

The St Michel church or the Provencal clothing Museums and Jean Aicard make it possible to plunge back into a distant time that is good to rediscover.

The Museums

Solliès-ville ha s managed to preserve its traditions and likes to transmit them. The Museums of the village are the best proof of this.

The Provencal clothing Museum presents in its old mill more than 200 costumes, the oldest of which dates back to 1800.

The Jean Aicard Museum highlights the writings of this great Provencal poet and writer.

A free guided tour of the Provencal clothing Museum, the St Michel church and the Jean Aicard Museum (on reservation) is offered throughout the year.

More informations :  www.solliesville.fr

Solliès-Ville

Village perché de Solliès-Ville

Village perché de Solliès-Ville

Laissez-vous charmer par ce village provençal chargé d’histoire. Solliès-Ville a été la place fortifiée principale de la région et a joué un rôle important dans l’histoire du comté de Provence. Village perché dominant la vallée du Gapeau à l’abri du bruit et des nuisances urbaines dans un environnement calme et très vert. Le clocher de son église se dresse fièrement telle une sentinelle avec les maisons du village blotties autour de lui.

Au cours de votre balade dans les rues pavées, vous découvrirez quelques vestiges historiques et pourrez profiter du somptueux panorama sur la vallée.

Vous pourrez prendre un verre ou manger sur la très agréable place du village où les terrasses de restaurants et bar sont rassemblées à l’ombre des superbes platanes centenaires, dans une atmosphère paisible, les enfants jouent pas loin, les parents jettent un œil tout en prenant l’apéro.

Un brin d’histoire

Solliès-Ville est sans conteste la capitale spirituelle du canton. En effet, à l’origine, Sollies-Ville formait un seul territoire avec les communes de Solliès Toucas, Solliès-Pont et La Farlède appelée jadis Solliès-Farlède.
C’est au XVI° siècle que petit à petit les habitants de Sollies-Ville descendent s’installer près des rives fertiles de la rivière du Gapeau et se regroupent en petit hameaux : Solliès-Pont (qui avaient plusieurs ponts), Solliès-Toucas, (où habitaient les frères Tocasso) et Sollies Farlede. C’est en 1799 que la commune fut découpée en quatre villages distincts.

Village de tradition, Solliès-Ville n’en demeure pas moins tourné vers l’avenir et mérite un détour.

La star de Solliès-Ville

Ce qui frappe surtout à Solliès-Ville, c’est le calme ! La quiétude des lieux appelle à la découverte des ruelles typiques de Provence.
Au gré des déambulations, vous découvrirez un village à l’écoute de ses traditions passées. L’église St Michel ou les musées du vêtement provençal et Jean Aicard permettent de replonger dans un temps lointain qu’il fait bon redécouvrir.

Les musées

Solliès-ville a su conserver ses traditions et aime les transmettre. Les musées du village en sont la meilleure preuve.
Le musée du vêtement provençal présente au sein d’un ancien moulin plus de 200 costumes dont les plus anciens datent de 1800.
Le musée Jean Aicard met en valeur les écrits de ce grand poète et écrivain provençal.

Un circuit guidé gratuit du musée du vêtement Provençal, de l’église St Michel et du musée Jean Aicard (sur réservation) vous est proposé tout au long de l’année.

Plus d’informations :  www.solliesville.fr